The word PLASMA on a yellow oval rectangle with a black background.

Mondays
6:00 - 8:30 p.m.

Zoom ID:
959 5554 2975

Password:
Send an email with PLASMA2021 in subject line to: 
paigesar@buffalo.edu

Additional Information

PLASMA 2021

Presented by: The Department of Media Study and the College of Arts and Sciences

The PLASMA speaker series brings cutting-edge guests to UB to discuss innovations in media art and culture shaping the new millennium communication world.

PLASMA (Performances, Lectures, and Screenings in Media Art) brings to Buffalo celebrated theorists and artists who are exhibiting in some of the world’s most renowned museums and galleries, and writing on the cutting edge of new media theory and expression.

Each event brings internationally celebrated artists to discuss varied arts practices, models, modes, examples, and experiences in media arts.

The series serves as a kind of hub as to how courses in new media, digital poetics, game studies, locative media, robotics, installation, media theory and performance arts can be experienced.

In this series you can see and interact with artists that you would encounter in New York, Europe and Latin America, offering of a rich experience for the University at Buffalo, the city and Western New York.

The series provides, not expressive answers, but raises intriguing questions, exploring new avenues in the digital age, who we are, how we interact and where we are going.

For enrolled students, the class begins at 6:00 p.m.

UB Department of Media Study's PLASMA 2021 Schedule:

Monday February 8 Amelia Winger-Bearskin​
Monday February 15 Chris Stults - Cinetracts ‘20
Monday February 22 Stephanie Rothenberg
Monday March 1 Jon-Sesrie Goff
Monday March 8 Rebekah Rutkoff on Lillian Schwartz
Monday March 15 Adam Khalil
Monday March 22 Jason Geistweidt - Performance and Lecture
Monday March 29 Girish Shambu
Monday April 5 Jenson Leonard / @coryintheabyss
Monday April 12 Ekrem Serdar
Monday April 19 Sindhu Thirumalaisamy
Monday April 26 Gregg Bordowitz
Monday May 4 PLASMA CINETRACTS Screening

PLASMA is presented by the Department of Media Study and the College of Arts and Sciences.